Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

APICTA 2014 Merit winners awarded with Grants

Skip Navigation LinksHome > News > Latest News > APICTA 2014 Merit winners awarded with Grants
APICTA 2014 Merit winners awarded with Grants
The Authority for Info-communications Technology Industry of Brunei Darussalam (AITI) held an appreciation event to congratulate the merit winners of APICTA 2014. The event was held at Emperor’s Court in the Hua Ho Manggis Mall.
The Guest of Honour for this event was Pehin Orang Kaya Hamzah Pahlawan Dato Seri Setia Awang Haji Abdullah bin Begawan Mudim Dato Paduka Haji Bakar, Minister of Communications.  Also present was Yang Mulia Awang Abdul Mutalib bin Pehin Orang Kaya Setia Dato Paduka Haji Mohamad Yusof, Permanent Secretary at the Ministry of Communications, Chairman of AITI and Chairman of BICTA 2014 Steering Committee, as well as Yang Mulia Awang Mohd Riza bin Dato Paduka Hj Mohd Yunos, the Deputy Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Communications. Other invitees included Authority Members, Senior Government Officials as well as judges and merit winners of APICTA 2014.
The event began with a recital of the Al - Fatihah and Doa Selamat. The ceremony then proceeded with a welcoming speech by Awang Hj Yahkup bin Hj Menudin, Chief Executive of AITI and Chairman of BICTA 2014 Working Committee. In his speech, Hj Yahkup highlighted that  it is a positive indication that even with only 6 entries from Brunei Darussalam competing against 183 other entries from the Asia Pacific, we were able to bring home 3 Merit Awards.  He urged the Merit Awards winners to use the Grants given to them today to enhance their products for commercialisation and future competitions such as ASEAN ICT Awards. 
The Minister of Communications presented the grant to the three (3) Merit Award Winners of APICTA 2014. The recipients were:
1.       Chung Hwa Middle School, BSB with their project Heritage of South East Asia,
2.       Institut Teknologi Brunei (ITB) with their project The Sulu Princess, and
3.       Teleconsult Sdn Bhd with their project Teleconsult-Sky Eye.
All the winners received a grant of $25,000 each. This grant is provided for them to further improve and enhance their winning product.  The ceremony came to an end with a group photo session with Guest of Honour and the three (3) Merit winners of APICTA 2014.
APICTA 2014 was recently held in Jakarta, Indonesia with a total of 183 entries from thirteen (13) member economies. Brunei Darussalam participated in this event with six (6) entries from one secondary school, three tertiary schools and another two from the ICT industry, who were amongst the winners of Brunei Info-Communication Technology Awards (BICTA) 2014.
APICTA nominees are usually selected from the BICTA which is an annual event organized by Ministry of Communications to stimulate innovation and creativity in ICT industry amongst individual, students and associations including SME's. It was first introduced in 2004.  BICTA 2015 will open for submissions at a date to be announced by AITI.